God gave me, God took away from me

Versión en español aquí!

Two years ago God allowed me to get accepted in a master’s program to study evolutionary biology. He also gave my parents the possibility to pay for the program (I didn’t have a scholarship). It was, literally, a miracle from the financial point of view. God gave me the strength to study and understand more than enough to be able to pass the courses of the first semesters. God also put in my way several new friends. I’m sure they were the precise people in the precise time. There were a lot of good times and also others not so good. However, God was there.

God took me to lots of new countries and gave me the necessary strength to be able to live for six months in four of them. Thank God I could get a room or an apartment each time, I never lacked anything essential. Then God took me to the best laboratories and allowed me to meet the best scientists so I could learn from them. God also gave me the most important characteristics, He gave me motivation to do science and the capacity to learn, understand and apply. I couldn’t have done anything without that. God also gave me patience. Besides motivation and knowledge I needed patience to wait for the review and publication of that paper for which I had worked really hard. God also gave the strength to build my master’s thesis from the dust. I feel really proud of that project, but I’m conscious about the fact that the abilities that made it possible didn’t appear out of nowhere, but were a gift. Thank God for the dedication I put on this project, because He gave me the motivation that kept me awake on several nights to work on it. The following months after the start of my master’s I enjoyed the good things that came directly from God.

However, some things happened in my last semester. Thanks to the same motivation that God had put on me, I had proposed myself some plans for the future. A couple of papers were in review and a couple of doors regarding PhD programs were open. I wanted to start a PhD as soon as I finished my master’s and God allowed me to make almost a perfect match with two professors that could be my future supervisors. I had talked with them about future projects, projects that kept me awake at night. The gifts from God seem to keep arriving. But in a matter of few weeks each of these opportunities and future plans, which I was expecting to happen, started to fade away. God made my manuscripts get rejected, one after the other. God didn’t allow me to get accepted at one university and He made impossible to me to even apply to the other. God left me without plans and without the rewards I was expecting from all my work. I tried to look for new doors, but God had closed all of them or was closing them in front of me.

 

God, why are you taking everything away from me after having given it all to me? It makes no sense. I thought you would take me directly to the end, always going higher.

 However, now that I remember the previous months, you wouldn’t have taken me so far for nothing. Then, why the apparent blockage?

 Anyways, do I deserve to be here? Actually, I haven’t done anything to be here, considering that all that makes me a scientist, all those characteristics, have come from You.

 I had forgotten about some things from the past, but now I remember the visas, plane tickets, financial and academic issues. I had forgotten how did I feel with my past problems. In those times, with all of those problems, I didn’t know what was about to come in the future. Now I know that everything went well in the end. If I could go back to the past I would tell myself not to worry, that You helped me.

 Maybe I should learn from that. I might have nothing without You, so there’s nothing to lose. The plan is Yours, I can’t see it as a whole, but I know that the end is good and the best possible.

 Why are you taking everything away from me after having given everything to me?

 Definitely is part of the plan.

 

Some months ago God allowed me to graduate from this master’s. I came back to my country and, surprisingly, God gave me tons of work. God also gave me projects to work on, and as double as before options for future PhDs. Simultaneously, God is allowing me to work on new publications. God is showing me new options that were invisible for me before. Now I can see a bit more of the plan.

The bad times became an anecdote again. In that time the future looked really bad for me, because I didn’t know about everything God planned to give me later. God gave me, then took away from me, but today I have more than what I had in the beginning. What will the future be like?

I’ll keep enjoying the good times, and the bad ones not so much. But, isn’t it amazing to know that the end will always be good? Thanks God, because I can leave everything in your hands.

 

 

PS: Also thanks God for giving me motivation to write in this blog, it makes me happy to know that it’s still alive after all this time!

 

Picture: The view from the first room I got at Munich, for the second semester of my master’s

 


 

Dios me dio, Dios me quitó

 

Hace unos dos años Dios me permitió ser aceptado en una maestría para estudiar biología evolutiva. También le dio a mis padres la posibilidad de poder pagar los costos (no tenía una beca). Literalmente un milagro desde el punto de vista económico. Dios me dio la fuerza para poder estudiar y entender más que suficiente para poder aprobar los cursos de los primeros semestres. Dios puso en mi camino muchos nuevo amigos. Estoy seguro que fueron las personas precisas en el momento preciso. Hubieron muchos buenos momentos y también otros no tan buenos. Sin embargo Dios estuvo ahí.

Dios me llevó a muchísimos nuevos países y me dio la fuerza necesaria para poder vivir por varios meses en 4 de ellos. Gracias a Dios pude conseguir casas o apartamentos donde vivir, nunca me faltó nada esencial. Dios luego me llevó a los mejores laboratorios y me hizo conocer a los mejores científicos para que pudiera aprender de ellos. Dios me dio las características más importantes, me dio la motivación para hacer ciencia y la capacidad de aprender, entender y aplicar. No podría haber hecho nada sin eso. Dios también me dio paciencia. Necesité, además de la motivación y el conocimiento, paciencia para esperar la revisión y publicación de ese paper en el que había trabajado tanto. Además de estas características Dios me dio la fuerza para construir mi tesis de maestría desde cero. Me siento muy orgulloso de ese proyecto, pero soy consciente de que las habilidades que lo hicieron posible no aparecieron de la nada, sino que fueron un regalo. Gracias a Dios por la dedicación que le puse a ese proyecto, porque Él me dio la motivación que me mantuvo despierto muchas madrugadas trabajando, y trabajando feliz. Por muchos meses luego del inicio de mi maestría disfruté de cosas buenas que vinieron directamente desde Dios.

Sin embargo, varias cosas pasaron en mi último semestre. Gracias a la misma motivación que Dios había puesto en mí, me había propuesto planes para el futuro. Un par de papers estaban en revisión y un par de puertas estaban abiertas, cada una llevándome a un programa de doctorado que en teoría empezaría ese mismo año al acabar la maestría. Dios me puso en una posición en la cual había hecho una conexión casi perfecta con dos profesores, cada uno de una universidad diferente para empezar con el doctorado más adelante ese año. Eran proyectos perfectos con los que soñaba. Los regalos de Dios parecían seguir llegando. Pero en cuestión de unas pocas semanas cada una de estas cosas que yo esperaba que sucedieran desaparecieron. Dios hizo que los manuscritos fueron rechazados uno detrás de otro. Dios hizo que una universidad no me aceptara y que la otra presentara nuevas reglas ese año que me impidieron aplicar. Dios me dejó sin planes y sin los frutos de mi trabajo. Intenté buscar nuevas puertas, pero todas habían sido cerradas por Dios o Él las cerraba frente a mí.

 

Dios, ¿por qué me quitas todo luego de habérmelo dado todo? No tiene sentido. Yo pensé que me llevarías directamente al final, siempre subiendo.

Aunque, ahora que recuerdo todos los meses anteriores, no me habrías traído hasta aquí por nada. Entonces ¿por qué el aparente estancamiento?

De todas formas, ¿merezco estar aquí? En realidad no he hecho nada para estar aquí considerando que todo lo que me hace un científico, todas esas características, me las has dado Tú.

 Me había olvidado, pero en estos malos tiempos recuerdo las visas, los pasajes de avión, los problemas económicos y administrativos. Había olvidado cómo me sentía con los problemas del pasado. En esos tiempos, en medio de esos problemas no sabía qué vendría en el futuro. Ahora sé que todo salió bien al final. Si pudiera volver al pasado me diría que no me preocupe, que Tú me ayudaste.

Tal vez debería aprender de eso. Sin Ti tal vez no tendría nada, así que no hay nada que perder. El plan es Tuyo, no lo puedo ver completo, pero sé que el final es bueno y es el mejor.

 ¿Por qué me quitas todo luego de habérmelo dado todo?

Definitivamente es parte del plan.

 

Hace unos meses Dios permitió que me graduara de esta maestría. Volví a mi país, y sorpresivamente Dios me regaló toneladas de trabajo. Dios también me dio proyectos en los cuales trabajar y el doble de nuevas opciones en diferentes lugares para hacer un doctorado. Simultáneamente Dios me está permitiendo trabajar en nuevas publicaciones. Dios me está mostrando nuevas opciones que tiempo antes me eran invisibles. Ahora veo un poco más del plan.

Los tiempos malos se volvieron de nuevo una anécdota. En ese tiempo el futuro se veía muy mal para mi, porque no sabía todo lo que Dios me daría. Dios me dio, luego me quitó, pero hoy tengo más de lo que tenía al principio. ¿Cómo será el futuro?

Los tiempos buenos los seguiré disfrutando, y los malos no tanto. Pero ¿no es increíble saber que el final siempre será bueno? Gracias Dios, porque puedo dejar todo en tus manos.

 

 

PD: También gracias a Dios por darme la motivación para escribir en este blog, me hace feliz saber que sigue activo después de todo este tiempo!!

 

Foto: La vista desde la primera habitación que conseguí en Munich, en el segundo semestre de mi programa

Leave a Reply

